Past Award Recipients

Past Award Recipients The Natalie J. Smith Immunization Champion Award was established in 2003 in memory of Natalie Joy Smith, M.D., M.P.H. (1962-2003). The award memorializes Dr. Smith’s exceptional leadership in the immunization community and her work in eliminating vaccine preventable diseases.

Year Awardees Organization
2018 Dorit R. Reiss, LLB, PhD Professor of Law/Parent Advocate
2017 Catharine Ratto, RN, MPH Alameda County Public Health
2016 Gale Ivie, MPH Kaiser Permanente
2015 Robert Benjamin, MD, MPH Marin County
2014 Lisa Posard, Producer Invisible Threat
2013 Assembly member Richard Pan, MD Sacramento, CA
2012 Sandra Jo Hammer, RN, MSN, MPH
Linda Davis-Alldritt, RN, MA, PHN
California Department of Public Health
California Department of Education
2011 Mariah Bianchi, RN San Francisco Immunization Coalition, Parent Advocate
2010 Linda Scott Orange County Immunization Coalition
2009 Steve Baranov South Los Angeles Health Projects
2008 Patricia Porter, RN, MPH, CHES California Asthma Public Health Initiative
2007 Marcy Connell Jones
Dean Blumberg, MD, FAAP
CA DHS, IZ Branch
American Academy of Pediatrics
2006 Glennah Trochet, M.D.
Marlene M. Lugg, Dr. P.H.
Sacramento County DHHS
Kaiser Permanente
2005 John Dunajski CA Department of Health Services
2004 The Honorable Deirdre Alpert
Sandra E. Ross, PHN
California State Senate
San Diego County Immunization Program

The Ronald P. Bangasser, MD Immunization Leadership Award was established in 2008 to honor the dedication and service of Dr. Bangasser (1950-2007), who was a leader within the California Adult Immunization Coalition. The award exemplifies Dr. Bangasser’s professionalism and commitment to immunizations.

Year Awardees Organization
2019 Mark Sawyer, MD Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego
2017 Jeff Goad, PharmD, MPH Chapman University School of Pharmacy
2014 Samuel So, MD, Director Asian Liver Center
2013 James Cherry, MD, MSc Los Angeles, CA
2011 Stephen E. Osburn, MD Orange, CA
2010 Ray George, MD Pasadena, CA
2009 Patricia Samuelson, MD Mercy Clinic Norwood
2008 Roger P. Baxter, MD
Michael Marcy, MD
Kaiser Permanente