Immunization Leadership & Champion Awards

Recognize your Immunization Champions and Leaders! CIC accepts nominations throughout the year and recipients are recognized at the annual CIC Summit.

Ronald P. Bangasser, MD, Immunization Leadership Award

This Ron Bangasser Immunization Leadership award is presented to a practicing clinician who exemplifies leadership, professionalism and commitment to immunizations. The Immunization Leadership award was established in 2008 to honor the dedication and service of Ron Bangasser, M.D. (1950-2007), who was a leader within the California Adult Immunization Coalition. Often a national spokesperson on influenza issues and a vigorous advocate for immunizations, Dr. Bangasser served as Chair of the California Adult Immunization Coalition from 2003 to 2007, and served for four years as a speaker for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/American Medical Association National Flu Vaccine Summit. Dr. Bangasser’s extensive clinical experience as a family practitioner brought an important dimension to his educational, quality improvement, and advocacy work in the immunization arena.

Natalie J. Smith, MD Immunization Champion Award

This Natalie Smith Immunization Champion award is presented to an individual, group, or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to immunizations at the state or local level. The Immunization Champion Award was established in 2003 in memory of Natalie Joy Smith, M.D, M.P.H. (1962-2003). Dr. Smith was Deputy Director of the National Immunization Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; former Chief of the Immunization Branch, California Department of Health Services (1994-2002); and a founder of the California Coalition for Childhood Immunization, a precursor organization to the California Immunization Coalition. This annual award, first presented in 2004, memorializes Dr. Smith’s exceptional leadership and her dedication to eliminating vaccine preventable diseases.

Nominees demonstrate excellence in a variety of contexts, including but not limited to:

• Development of partnerships and coalitions
• Policy and legislative advocacy
• Innovative programs to reach disadvantaged populations
• Philanthropic support of state or local activities
• Leadership in public health
• Advances in service delivery in the context of preventive health and primary care

Past recipients:

2019 – Mark Sawyer, MD                    2018 – Dorit Reiss, JD
2017 – Catherine Ratto, PHN
2016 – Gayle Ivie, Health Educator (awarded posthumously)
2015 – Bob Benjamin, MD, MPH
2014 – Lisa Posard, Producer, Director “Invisible Threat”                                    2014 – Samuel So, MD

2013 – Assemblymember Dr. Richard Pan
2012 – Sandra Jo Hammer, RN, MSN, MPH
2012 – Linda Davis-Alldritt, MA, BSN, RN
2011 – Mariah Bianchi, BSN, MSN, California Pacific Medical Center
2010 – Linda Scott, Orange County Immunization Coalition
2009 – Steve Baranov, Vice President, South LA Health Projects
2008 – Patricia Porter, RN, MPH, University of California San Francisco
2007 – Marcy Connell Jones, Chief, Information & Education Section, Immunization Branch
2007 – Dean Blumberg, MD, FAAP
2006 – Glennah Trochet, MD, Public Health Officer Sacramento County
2006 – Marlene Lugg, Dr. Ph., Immunization Coordinator/Project Manager Kaiser Permanente
2005 – John Dunajski, Retiring Assistant Chief, Immunization Branch
2004 – Sandra Ross, PHN
2004 – Senator Dede Alpert